In exactly 14 months, the coalition government of Karnataka collapsed.

The government failed to secure the trust by a margin of 4 votes. While BJP secured 105 votes, Congress-JDS only had 99 votes. This means 20 MLAs skipped the session bringing down the total to 204.

The magic number was 103 & coalition didn’t have the numbers during the trust vote.

The coalition had tried hard to delay the trust vote. Every tactic in the rule book was tried and after 4 days of intense debate and face off, the trust vote took place.

The session witnessed a Division Vote wherein head count of MLAs took place in the assembly. Following the vote count it was clear Kumaraswamy didn’t have the numbers.

The Chief Minister then submitted his resignation to the Governor.

The Governor then immediately accepted his resignation and requested him to continue as a caretaker CM

What next in Karnataka?

What happens next in the big question on everyone’s mind. BJP President Yeddyurappa is expected to stake claim after meeting the Governor Vajubhai Vala.

Fate of the 15 rebel MLAs remains unknown. As the speaker is yet to accept or reject their resignations.

Scenario 1:

If their resignations are accepted, there could be re-election on their seats, which means the tussle for power could extend

Scenario 2:

If resignations are rejected, then under anti-defection law they could be disqualified as the whip remains. This drama could also escalate in Supreme Court.

BSP in the meanwhile also sacked its lone MLA for defying the party whip. The MLA was asked to cast his vote for the coalition, but he refrained from the proceedings

Situation in Bengaluru

Meanwhile section 144 was imposed in the capital city of Bengaluru. However once the reports of trust vote results emerged, BJP supporters celebrated the win.

COVID 19 Updates

Stay Safe